Contact Us: 734-655-4800
Jennifer Kennedy
Marketing/Public Relations

Hospital receives national honors for excellence in clinical quality and stroke care
Start Date
Awards include the Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ 2013,
Healthgrades America’s Best Hospitals 2013 among America’s 50 Best Hospitals,
and the Gold Seal of Approval for Stroke Care

Two national organizations have honored St. Mary Mercy Hospital for delivering high-quality clinical and stroke care.
St. Mary Mercy Hospital ranks among the top 5 percent of hospitals nationwide, according to Healthgrades, receiving the Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ 2013 among only 262 U.S. hospitals. The recognition is given to hospitals that deliver high-quality care with better than expected clinical outcomes across clinical specialties. This is St. Mary Mercy's ninth consecutive year winning the award.

In addition to the Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ recognition, St. Mary Mercy is among the top 1 percent of the recipients to also receive Healthgrades America’s Best Hospitals 2013 among America’s 50 Best Hospitals for demonstrating consistency of care. Hospitals become eligible for this award after receiving the Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ a minimum of seven consecutive years. This year is the hospital’s third year winning the Healthgrades America’s Best Hospitals award. St. Mary Mercy received the recognition as America’s 50 Best Hospitals in 2011 and 2012.

The Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ 2013 and Healthgrades America’s Best Hospitals 2013 were announced in January and February, respectively.

The analysis conducted by Healthgrades, an independent healthcare rating company based in Denver, compares severity-adjusted mortality and complication rates across all U.S. hospitals. As a group compared to all other hospitals, organizations that earn a Healthgrades Distinguished Hospital for Clinical Excellence™ award had an overall 30.9 percent lower risk-adjusted mortality rate across 18 procedures and conditions where in-hospital mortality was the clinical outcome.

The recertification from The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® as an Advanced Primary Stroke Center recognizes St. Mary Mercy as a facility that provides the next generation of stroke care and seeks continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards.

For the Stroke Care recertification from The Joint Commission, the hospital underwent a rigorous on-site survey in August 2012. A team of Joint Commission expert surveyors evaluated St. Mary Mercy for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of patients, including infection prevention and control, leadership and medication management.
“Our consistency of providing quality patient care is a key characteristic of our excellent teams of physicians, nurses and clinical staff,” said Dave Spivey, President and CEO, St. Mary Mercy Hospital, speaking to the number of years recognized for these honors.

Debbie Karabatakis, Director of Clinical Quality, Patient Safety and Risk, said: “The recognition from Healthgrades and the recertification of our Advanced Primary Stroke Center are examples of our pursuit to excellence across St. Mary Mercy Hospital. These achievements can only occur through daily dedication to provide the highest quality of care to every patient. This level of dedication is seen in each team member— our associates, our leaders and our physician partners.”
For more information about Healthgrades methodology, visit, and for more information about The Joint Commission’s advanced certification for Primary Stroke Centers, visit